Hoo Hoo. Owl pillow.

Mondays seem to get lost on me. Yesterday especially was a busy day…. and no post on the blog. I guess the good thing about Monday’s being “free to be” day means that sometimes… well, my posts are free to be non existent 😉 Alas, I will need to use the pre-plan feature a bit more, and get some posts in the pipe! It is funny how, when I post every day, people actually read my blog. Go figure… thanks readers. I ❤ you.

For Today’s Project, I wanted to share with you an adorable little owl pillow I made last week. I was in the mood to do some sewing, and decided to make some plushies my boys might like. Let’s face it, I myself have a thing for Owls. Why are they so cute? This was especially fun…  so much so that I made another the same night, and also made E a bunny as per his request- which you can kind of see him squishing with joy in the photo below.

I am going to share with you a simple guide to designing and sewing up your own owl! You will need:

  • fabric selection for the body
  • fabric selection for the belly
  • felt for the eyes and beak
  • batting
  • beans (and some scrap fabric to make a bag)
  • thread (and a sewing machine!)

 

1. You will need to start by drawing your owl shape. Is it going to be fat and stocky, long and lean or somewhere in between? Pointy long “ears” or barely any… there is much to consider when making an owl pillow. I found it is most effective to fold your paper in half, free hand your shape, and cut away. I just used the paper that holds our flyers- newsprint works well also.

2. Once you have cut out your pattern, you will need to pin it to your fabric and start cutting. I will suggest ironing your fabric first, but, in the end it doesn’t matter overly much.

3. Cut out the remaining pieces for the owl’s body. I chose to use a floral for the belly- and because I am going for a handmade/worn look, I left the edges unfinished, as I don’t mind if they fray. I cut the eye circles and lashes out of felt, as well as the beak.

4.You will need to sew the belly and face parts first. I used the machine for the belly, tacked the eyleashes, then sewed the eyes on, and then hand tacked the beak last.

5. It is now time to sew your owl body together. Face the pieces finished side in, or inside out (so you will be looking at the stitching) and carefully sew around the outside edge. Be sure to leave an opening at the bottom.

6. Flip right side out. Stuff with batting. I sewed up a little bean bag and stuffed it inside the base of the owl before sewing up the bottom, this way, the owl will stand up on its own!

Leave a comment